This is the "Guide" page of the "Elizabethan England Research " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Elizabethan England Research  

Last Updated: Nov 23, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/ElizabethanEngland Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Assignment

  • Choose a topic from the list your teacher has provided regarding 1550-1650 England/Europe.
  • Research your topic by consulting at least five sources, at least two of which must be print.  Remember, each article, even if its from the same database, is a different source.
  • Research, read, take notes, organize, create a Works Cited page.
  • Then develop a Power Point presentation.  
 

Search Tips

  • Use Boolen operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.), e.g. Renaissance AND inventions, music OR dance
  • Use quotation marks around an exact phrase, e.g. "King James" or "Tower of London"
  • Think of synonyms if your initial keyword search is not giving you what you want, e.g. you might try 'prison' instead of 'cr'ime and punishment'
  • Use the advanced search option to comibine terms or narrow your search.
  • Do not use conversational language when searching databases, e.g. What things were invented during the Renaissance? 

Don't forget: databases and ebooks make citing your sources super easy!  The MLA citation is either listed for you at the bottom of the article or available with a click or two.

 

Standards

Common Core

CC9-10.5L.2

Integrate multiple sources of information presented in diverse formats/medias evaluating the credibility and accuracy of each source.

CC9-10.W.7

Conduct short and long research projects to answer a question or solve a problem.

Research Databases

Databases are a great place for you to access all kinds of information including easy to cite images!

Articles in a database that come from a work originally published as a print source (reference book, journal article) are considered PRINT sources.

  • Daily Life through History
    Username orhs
    Password wildcats

    Use the TOPICS tab to look at Life During the Renaissance, Elizabethan England. Its a great place to start!
  • World History Modern Era
    username orhs
    password wildcats

    Covers 1500 to present. Use the search box with this database. You should consider using more than one term to make your results more relevant, like "Elizabethan medicine" or "Elizabethan music."
  • Student Resources in Context
    GENERAL REFERENCE. A one stop shop for reference books, magazine/journal articles, images and more. Use the search box.
 

eBooks

These are "print" sources, too.  They are actually print books that are being made available to you electronically.

Cover Art
Daily Life in Elizabethan England - Jeffrey L. Forgeng; Jeffrey L. Singman
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats.

This book is also available in print.

Cover Art
"Romeo and Juliet" from Shakespeare for Students - Anne Marie Hacht
Publication Date: 2007
.
Chapter "Romeo and Juliet" from the ebook Shakespeare for Students.

Cover Art
Culture and Society in Shakespeare's Day - Brett Foster; Robert C. Evans
Publication Date: 2012
username orhs
password wildcats
Gives historical context to the works of William Shakespeare, discussing daily life in England during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Cover Art
Literature and the Theater in Shakespeare's Day - Brett Foster
Publication Date: 2012
.
Provides important background information on the practice of writing and producing plays in Shakespeare's England.

Cover Art
William Shakespeare - Dennis Kay
ISBN: 0805770631
Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Use Chapter 6, "Elizabethan" which will discuss the political, social, cultural and literary influences exerted by Elizabeth I and James I.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip