This is the "Careers" page of the "Careers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Careers   Tags: careers, jobs, resumes  

Use this guide for career research.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Careers Print Page
  Search: 
 

Best Websites

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
  • College for TN
    Offers high school planning, career planning, college planning, and financial aid planning. Includes information on FAFSA, careers, scholarships and universities. You will need to create a free account first (upper right-hand corner).
  • My Next Move
    Created for the U.S. Department of Labor, this tool helps you explore career options.
  • Tennessee Career Information Delivery System
    A division of the Tennessee Department of Education, TCIDS helps students explore careers and schools.
  • Exploring Career Info from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
    2012-2013 edition, an easier way of searching the Occupational Outlook Handbook, specifically designed for K-12 students.
  • Career One Stop
    Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, this site helps students identify their career and work interests, explore careers and Universities, and find work experience opportunities.
  • Science Careers from Science Magazine
    Extensively redesigned and rebuilt in the fall of 2005, ScienceCareers.org now combines the best of Science's Next Wave, our pioneering career information site for young scientists; GrantsNet, our biomedical funding search network; and Science Careers, our long-standing job-hunting and networking headquarters with job listings, résumé postings, a searchable meetings-and-events database, and more.
 

eBooks from ORHS Library

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Sarah Dalton (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011
Presents alphabetized profiles of over seven hundred careers and more than ninety career fields; guidance on choosing a career and finding and applying for jobs; a directory of internships, apprenticeships, and training programs; and a list of career resources for people with disabilities.

 

Print Books available in the library (just to name a few)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - Sarah Dalton (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 371.42 Enc
Publication Date: 2010
Presents alphabetized profiles of over seven hundred careers and more than ninety career fields; guidance on choosing a career and finding and applying for jobs; a directory of internships, apprenticeships, and training programs; and a list of career resources for people with disabilities.

Cover Art
Career Discovery Encyclopedia - J. G. Ferguson Publishing Company Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ref 371.42 Ca
Publication Date: 2006
Presents alphabetized, cross-referenced profiles of over seven hundred careers, each covering duties, work environment, salary, outlook, required skills and education, and subjects to take in school, and includes a further resource list with each profile, sixteen career cluster articles, and a guide to self-assessment tools.

Cover Art
Career Information Center - Thomson Gale Staff
Call Number: Ref 371.42
Publication Date: 2006
A resource for people of all ages and at all stages of career development. Includes job summary charts, an overview of the job market for each sector, photographs, job profiles, educational requirements, and more.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in Engineering - Richard A. McDavid; Susan Echaore-McDavid
Call Number: 620 McD
Publication Date: 2007
aerospace, agricultural and biological, industrial, and other concentrations in the field, each with information on salaries, education and training, special requirements and skills, job prospects, and related associations.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in Photography - George Gilbert; Pamela Fehl
Call Number: 371.42 Gi
Publication Date: 2006
Profiles over sixty photography jobs, describing duties, nature of the job, salary range, employment and advancement prospects, best geographical locations, prerequisites, important personality traits, and unions and associations and providing tips for entry.

Cover Art
The Film Industry - Fred Yager; Jan Yager; David Carradine (Foreword by)
Call Number: 791.4302 Yag
Publication Date: 2009
Contains profiles of more than eighty careers in the film industry, each with a position description, discussion of salaries, employment and advancement prospects, and prerequisites, and tips on how to get the job.

Cover Art
Career Opportunities in the Internet, Video Games, and Multimedia - Roger Taylor; Allan
Call Number: 371.42 Tay
Publication Date: 2007
Profiles over eighty careers in the multimedia, electronic game, and Internet industry, including jobs in design, production, testing, marketing, management, e-commerce, education, and other areas, covering duties, salary range, employment and advancement prospects, requirements, and unions and associations and providing.

Cover Art
Cool Careers Without College for People Who Love Everything Digital - Amy Romano
Call Number: 371.42 Rom
Publication Date: 2006
Describes a number of careers for people without college who desire to work in the digital or multimedia field including graphic design and desktop publishing, artist and animator, video technician, or Internet consultant.

Cover Art
Cool Careers Without College for People Who Love Video Games - Nicholas Croce
Call Number: 371.42 Cro
Publication Date: 2006
Describes twelve careers that do not require a college degree for people who are interested in video games, each including such information as training requirements, salary ranges, and future outlook, as well as lists of related organizations and Web sites.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Architecture Careers - Robert J. Piper
Call Number: 371.42 Pip
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a guide to a career as an architect, providing an overview of the field, and containing information on types of employment, career advancement, educational requirements, and salary ranges. Includes tips on finding a job.

Cover Art
Arts and Crafts Careers - Elizabeth B. Gardner
Call Number: 371.42 Ga
Publication Date: 2005
Presents an introduction to pursuing a career in arts and crafts, including information on job opportunities, salaries, descriptions of work in involved, education and training requirements, and more.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Beauty and Modeling Careers - Susan Wood Gearhart
Call Number: 371.42
Publication Date: 2004
Presents descriptions of career opportunities in beauty salons and in other areas of the industry, each with information on education and/or training requirements, outlook, and salaries; and features a description of the modeling industry, discussing the attributes needed to model or to own a modeling agency.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Biotech Careers - Sheldon S. Brown
Call Number: 371.42 Br
Publication Date: 2007
Outlines the skills and training needed to earn a living in the field of biotechnology, and discusses job opportunities, wages and working conditions, training programs, and areas of advancement.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Broadcasting Careers - Elmo Israel Ellis
Call Number: 371.42 El
Publication Date: 2004
Presents a comprehensive guide to obtaining a career in the field of broadcasting and provides information on Internet opportunities, descriptions of the various jobs such as announcer, news analyst, sound engineer, and computer scientist, and offers advice on available scholarships and fellowships.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Carpentry Careers - Roger Sheldon
Call Number: 371.42 Sh
ISBN: 9780071476065
Publication Date: 2007
Outlines the skills and training needed to earn a living in the field of carpentry, and discusses job opportunities, wages and working conditions, on-the-job hazards, training programs, and areas of advancement.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Child Care Careers - Renee Wittenberg
Call Number: 371.42 Wi
Publication Date: 2006
Discusses the qualifications and training necessary for pursuing a variety of careers in the child care industry including day care, educational child care, social worker, and educator.

Cover Art
Holistic Health Careers - Gillian Tierney
Call Number: 371.42 Ti
Publication Date: 2006
Looks at career opportunities for people interested in holistic health care, providing an overview of the industry, and featuring descriptions of specific jobs, each with information on training requirements, salary, and outlook, and a list of resources.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Hospital Administration Careers - I. Donald Snook
Call Number: 371.42 Sn
Publication Date: 2006
Provides descriptions of the diverse career opportunities available in hospital administration; offers salary statistics for a wide variety of positions; features advice from a practicing professional; and includes listings of related programs, organizations, and publications.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Landscape Architecture, Botanical Gardens and Arboreta Careers - Blythe Camenson
Call Number: 371.42 Ca
Publication Date: 2007
Provides information about careers in landscape architecture, botanical gardens, and arboreta, discussing tasks, training, salaries, and other aspects of the jobs; featuring first-hand accounts from people working in the field; and including a list of professional associations.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Occupational Therapy Careers - Zona Roberta Weeks; Marguerite Abbott
Call Number: 371.42 We
Publication Date: 2006
Discusses the qualifications and training necessary for pursuing a variety of careers in occupational therapy including therapist, administrator, educator, hospice worker, and community health-care specialist.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Speech-Language Pathology Careers - Patricia Larkins Hicks
Call Number: 371.42 Hi
Publication Date: 2006
Provides an overview of the field, educational and legal requirements, and implications for the future.

Cover Art
So You Want to Work in Animation and Special Effects? - Torene Svitil
Call Number: 371.42 Svi
Publication Date: 2007
Presents an introduction to securing a career in film animation and special effects, and describes the history of animation and the development of technology in the industry.

 

Search Destiny for More Print materials @ ORHS Library

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

From Tennessee Electronic Library

Career Transitions

Vocations, Careers, and Technical Education

Learning Express Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip