This is the "Home" page of the "November 4 Tennessee Electronic Library Inservice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

November 4 Tennessee Electronic Library Inservice  

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2014 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=638538 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why TEL?

  • The Tennessee Electronic Library provides access to a variety of authoritative, current and appropriate resources for FREE!
  • These databases are a great place to search for images, too.  Beware .
  • Teachers (and students) can look for articles by topic and/or by Lexile level.
  • Common Core!  TEL can help you find appropriately complex content-rich informational texts by allowing you to search the databases by Lexile level.  Click here for more information about how TEL can help you implement Common Core standards in your classroom.

 

 

Strategies for Using TEL

  • Focus student's attention on one part of TEL--share links only to the relevant parts, especially for young users.  Your librarian can help you set this up.
  • Stay up-to-date on a topic with automatic emails! Sign up for email alerts when new articles on a particular topic are added. View this video now.
  • It's like having an online subscription for FREE!  You can have all articles from a particular magazine or journal sent to your inbox each month with a "Journal Alert."  Over 34,000 publications are a part of TEL. Read them on line for FREE!  View this video now.
  • Share a list of select TEL search results with one click: create a bookmark that can be printed, emailed to students or posted on skyward or on another webpage so that they will see the exact article (or articles) that you want them to work with.. View this video now.
  • Still not sure how TEL can help?  Check out these sample lesson plans, all of which include TEL resources.
  • Consult your friendly neighborhood librarian!  We are here to help.

 

 

Search tips you might need to remind your students of...

  • Use Boolen operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.)
  • Use quotation marks around an exact phrase, e.g. "Cat Stevens" or "Apollo moon landing"
  • Think of synonyms if your initial keyword search is not giving you what you want, e.g. try American Revolution Bicentennial instead of Bicentennial
  • Use the advanced search options to get precise results
  • Do not use conversational languagewhen searching, e.g. When was abortion legalized?  Try "legalization of abortion" or "Roe v. Wade"
 

TEL's best resources for ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

How to find texts for Elementary Students (video)

  • This video provides an overview of TEL and how elementary students and teachers can get the most out of it.

Using World Book with K-5 students (video)

  • This is not your father's encyclopedia!  This video provides information on how students can search for articles and images, hear an aritlce read aloud, have an article translated to another language and use other tools and resources from this database.

World Book's Early World of Learning, for K-1 students (video)

  • Geared towards the youngest students, this database provides fictional and informational texts, educational games and videos.  

               TEL Kids Page                  K-5articles    

  World Book kids      Emerging readers

TEL's best resources for Middle and High School

Searching in TEL for middle and high school students and teachers (video)

  • This video provides a brief overview of TEL with an emphasis on Student Resources in Context.

  • Student Resouces in Context allows teachers to "search" for articles by standard (TN state Sicience and SS or Common Core.)  Click on the "Curriculum Standards" tab to drill down and find articles associated with the standards you want to teach.

Searching World Book for middle and high school students (video)

  • Enclyclopedia articles, images, primary sources and even ebooks are contained in this helpful database. The MLA (and other) citation is provided at the end of each article.

TEL has ELA and Math practice/turotials for middle and high school students. (video)

  • Informational reading, literature reading, writing and language skills practice (and science,social studies and logic skills for high school) graded online for quick student feedback.

Lots more databases (free from TEL and pay for the high school).  Check out the ORHS Library Database page for a complete listing, organized by subject and alphabetically.

 

 Both of these databases can be searched by subject, lexile or curriculum standard.

student resources                Opposing Viewpoints in Context

                                                      

Power Search  is where you would set up "Search alerts."  You will likely need to use the Advanced Search in this database; the results list can be overwhelming.

   Gale Power Search Icon                        

World Book Student is typically for middle schoolers and Advanced is typically for high school.

 World Book StudentWB advanced      

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip