This is the "Home" page of the "Pickering - Economics of Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pickering - Economics of Energy  

Create a presentation that introduces the economic aspects of an assigned energy source.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=645189 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Student Resources in Context
    Provides contextual information on a broad range of topics. Includes reference content, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

    MLA citation at the bottom of the article.
  • Global Issues in Context
    Accesses a variety of newspapers and magazines, journals, reference sources, from around the world. Results lists will include articles, images, and diagrams. You can continue to narrow and refine your results list by "searching within these results."

    MLA citation at the bottom of the article.

    Take note of the "Global Viewpoints" section, which is usually listed first in the results. These are viewpoint articles (editorials) and may be of limited value for this project.
  • World Geography
    username orhs
    password wildcats

    This database has information about global issues such as energy, economics and the environment in addition to information about specific countries.

    Use the search box to find information about your topic.

    ML citation at the bottom of the article.
  • Popular Magazines
    This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries."
 

Citing Sources

The databases and eBooks listed here provide citation tools to generate your citation. Should you need help citing, additional sources to use include Purdue's Online Writing Lab or Easy Bib (see below).

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.
 

Search Destiny - Look for Print Materials @ ORHS Library

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search
 

EBooks

Cover Art
Biofuels - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

Describes the principal fuels obtained from decayed biological material, the means by which they are produced, and their uses in electricity and transportation production.

Cover Art
Coal and Oil - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

Looks at coal and oil as sources of energy and discusses the technology needed to convert it to useful working energy, examining the history, chemistry, and geology of coal and oil, how it is accessed, consumption and demand, and the social and environmental costs.

Cover Art
Natural Gas and Hydrogen - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

Describes the business of the production of natural gas and the advantages of using hydrogen as a source of energy.

Cover Art
Nuclear Energy - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

A comprehensive introduction to nuclear energy that discusses its history, and examines related technology, economic and environmental impacts, and government policies.

Cover Art
Solar Energy - Christine Zuchora-Walske
ISBN: 9781614806875
In this title, discover what solar energy is, its history, how we use it today, and how new technologies can contribute to our energy future. Learn about cutting-edge uses for solar cells, including tiny nano-sized cells and cells printed on paper, and exciting new ways to make and use power from the sun's heat. Sidebars, full-color photos, full-spread diagrams, well-placed graphs, charts, and maps, stories highlighting innovations in action, and a glossary enhance this engaging title. Innovative Technologies is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.

Cover Art
Solar and Geothermal Energy - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

A comprehensive introduction to solar and geothermal energy that discusses the history of each, and examines related technology, economic and environmental impacts, and government policies.

Cover Art
Wind Energy - Melissa Higgins
ISBN: 9781614806899
Discover what wind energy is, its history, how we use it today, and how new technologies can contribute to our energy future. Learn about cutting-edge types of wind turbines, including turbines at sea and turbines aloft in the sky, and how researchers are making wind energy more efficient. Sidebars, full-color photos, full-spread diagrams, well-placed graphs, charts, and maps, stories highlighting innovations in action, and a glossary enhance this engaging title. Innovative Technologies is a series in Essential Library, an imprint of ABDO Publishing Company.

Cover Art
Wind and Water - John Tabak
Publication Date: 2009
username orhs
password wildcats

A comprehensive introduction to wind and water as renewable energy resources that discusses the history of each, and examines related technology, economic and environmental impacts, and government policies.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Global Resources - Criag W. Allin
Publication Date: 2010
Collects 575 alphabetically-arranged articles on natural resources, covering economic applications; resource management; the environmental impact of extraction; processing; and topics such as minerals; organizations; historical events and individuals; renewable energy; and choices about agronomy and risk assessment around the.

Cover Art
Environmental Encyclopedia - Deirdre S. Blanchfield
Publication Date: 2011
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip