This is the "Guide" page of the "Roop - History of Anatomy Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Roop - History of Anatomy Research Paper  

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=651767 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Details

You are to choose a person/scientist who has made a major contribution in the field of Anatomy or Medicine and report on them and their discoveries. All sections of the paper are to be typed and double-spaced. 

Each report should include:

a) name of scientists

b) place and date of birth

c) early family life

d) education, where and how much

e) people who influenced or associated with the scientist

f) major scientific work - if scientist did a lot, combine F & G

g) other scientific work

h) family of the scientist (spouse and children)

i) travels (where, when and why)

j) other interesting information (if available)

k) where and when (s)he died. If still alive, state so.

l) bibliography (author, title, publisher, date and place of publication)

m) 3-5 sources (at least one should be a reference book or encyclopedia)

Online Databases

  • Student Resources in Context
    This database contains reference books, primary source documents, and images, that will be very useful to you. It is possible that you may find everything you need from multiple resources in this one database.

    The MLA citation is at the bottom of each article.
    PASSWORD: elvis
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    USERNAME: orhs
    PASSWORD: wildcats
  • World Book Encyclopedia
    PASSWORD: elvis
  • Global Issues in Context
    This database might be a good one for some of the harder to find scientists and for scientists who are still alive.

    PASSWORD: elvis
 

EBooks - You can open with an internet connection

Cover Art
Great Lives from History - Scientists & Science - Joseph L. Spradley
ISBN: 1587659689
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Password: orwildcats

Biographical profiles of the most important and influential individuals in the field of science.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History, the Ancient World - Christina A. Salowey (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1587651521
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Password: orwildcats

Biographies of 325 important personages who flourished in ancient times. Coverage is worldwide, with the largest numbers of personages associated with Rome and Greece, but also including many from Asia, northern Europe, Egypt and other parts of Africa, Asia Minor and the Middle East.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History, the Middle Ages - Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Shelley Wolbrink (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1587651645
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
Password: orwildcats

Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished from 477 to 1453.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History, the Renaissance and Early Modern Era - Christina J. Moose (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1587652110
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Password: orwildcats

This set includes the recognized shapers of history essential in any liberal arts curriculum including: major world leaders and giants of religious faith, science and the arts. It also includes key women who have previously received little attention.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History, the 17th Century - Larissa Juliet Taylor (Editor); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1587652226
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Password: orwildcats

Great Lives from History are biographies on important people from the Seventeenth century

Cover Art
Great Lives from History, the 18th Century - John Powell (Editor); Christian J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781587652769
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Password: orwildcats

Coverage in Great Lives from History: The 18th Century is broad in its variety of areas of achievement.

Cover Art
Great Lives from History - 19th Century - John Powell (Editor); Christian J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 1587652927
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
The lives of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished between 1801 and 1900 are profiled in extended biographical essays.

Password: orwildcats

Cover Art
Great Lives from History - the 20th Century - Robert F. Gorman
ISBN: 1587653451
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
This title presents in-depth critical essays on important women and men in all areas of achievement and from around the world, who flourished between 1901 and 2000.

Password: orwildcats

 

Looking for your own scientist?

Ms. Roop has provided a list of suggested people for you to research.  If however, you'd like to find someone else, the folllowing resources are your best options. Be sure to get approval from Ms. Roop for a scientist you are interested in researching.

Print books (on the cart):

International Encyyclopedia of Women Scientists

Encyclopedia of World Scientists

Sceintists and Science (3 volume set) (also in ebook format)

American Profiles Black Scientists

American Profiles Great Scientists

Landmarks in Science Hippocrates to Carson

African American Scientists

Best (Free) Websites

  • PubMed Central
    PubMed CentralĀ® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
  • Notable Names Database -
    An online biographical database.
  • Biography.com
    Covers some historical but primarily contemporary figures.
  • SweetSearch
    Use instead of Google. Provides reliable results acceptable for research purposes.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip