This is the "Home" page of the "Angelini - Lord of the Flies Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Angelini - Lord of the Flies Research  

Last Updated: Mar 8, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=658127 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Assignment

Topic:

In his novel Lord of the Flies, William Golding asserts that mankind is inherently evil.  You will research three historical events that uphold Golding’s theory about the dark side of human nature.  Your goal is to show how these events support/relate to Lord of the Flies. 

Choose three of the following events to research.  You will prove that each of these events uphold the savagery and darkness depicted in Lord of the Flies. 

  •   Guantanamo Bay
  •   Ferguson, Missouri Riots
  •   Looting in Hurricane Katrina
  •   The Zimbardo Prison Experiment
  •   Salem Witch Trials
  •   Spanish Inquisition
  •   ISIS violence/terrorism
  •   Kristallnacht
  •   Hate crimes in general or Matthew Shepard, James Byrd, J.R. Warren specifically
  •   Ku Klux Klan
  •   Abu Ghraib prison scandal
  •   2011 Vancouver Stanley Cup riot
  •   McCarthyism
  •   Kent State shootings

Your paper should fulfill the following requirements:

You must provide a clear thesis statement in the introduction.

You must use TIQA TIQA in body paragraphs.

You must use parenthetical citations.

Your paper must be 3-5 pages in length.

You must have a bibliography page with four sources, one of which must be Lord of the Flies.  The other thee sources must come from tone of the resources in this LibGuide.

You must use MLA style documentation for citation.

Where to get your facts:

  • Student Resources in Context
    This is a fabulous general purpose database with reference materials, newspaper, magazine and journal sources, video and audio clips....all updated today!

    Use the search box, type in your topic, and browse through your list of results. Use "advanced search" to combine terms like "hurricane katrina" and "crime".

    Don't forget to try synonyms or related terms if you don't find the results you want right away.

    Your MLA citation is at the bottom of the article. Just copy and paste it into your Works Cited page.

    The password is elvis.
  • Global Issues in Context
    This is another great database to use; it has a more global perspective.

    Please note that the first results returned when you enter a search are "Global Viewpoints" which are biased, editorial kinds of articles. It doesn't mean you can't use them, but you have to make sure you know what you are using.

    MLA citation found at the bottom of the article.

    The password is elvis.
 

MLA format for Paranthetical Citations and Bibliography Page

Parenthtical Citations (or intext citations) are used within your text to show your reader where you got a specific piece of information or a quote.  The MLA style required that you use the first word(s) of your bibliographic citation in parenthesis, usually the author's last name or the beginning of the title of the article.  If you are referencing a database article, no page numbers are necessary.  For example, if you are referencing an article with this citation:

"Plot Summary: Lord of the Flies." DISCovering Authors. Detroit: Gale, 2003. Student Resources in Context. Web. 8 Mar. 2015.

your intext citation would be ("Plot").


A Bibliography page lists all your sources of information. Databases make it easy to create Bibliography pages because each article has the  MLA citation at the bottom of the page; just copy and paste into your works cited Word document.

Websites are harder to cite; a url is not a citation.   Use easybib.com or bibme.org for help.   Remember that those tools rarely generate a complete citation; you still need to hunt for the information to complete it. 

Organize your citations in alphabetical order and don't forget to indent the second line.   

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip