This is the "Home" page of the "Traer - Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Traer - Research Paper  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=666639 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Some Helpful Tips

You will write a research paper on a topic of your choice with a strong thesis statement and 3-5 sources to support it.

  • Think carefully about your search terms and combine when you can to get the most relevant results. You may discover a new search term when you start sifting through the results that you find first. For example, "japanese animation" might lead you to "manga."
  • Use your research to inform your thesis.   In other words, don't have your mind already made up about what you are going to write.  You might already know something about your topic, but the whole point of research is to learn something new.  Besides, if you are looking for support of your own, preconceived  ideas, you might not find a lot.   It will be easier for you to write about what the experts are writing about.
     

    Citing Sources

    The databases listed here provide citation tools to generate your citation. Should you need help citing, additional sources to use include Purdue's Online Writing Lab and the handout attached here.

     

    Search Destiny - Look for Print Materials @ ORHS Library

    Find:
    Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
     

    There are a lot of great print sources available and some of your topics will be especially easy to research with print materials from the library. Write down the call number and check to see whether the book is available (checked in) before heading to find it on the shelves.  Don't hesitate to let Mrs. Milloway know if you need help,

    Online Databases

    • Student Resources in Context
      START HERE. This is a good general purpose database which will give you access to reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, news videos and more.

      If you need a password, use "elvis".
    • Britannica Encylopedia
      This database can be useful for background information and to help you figure out better search terms.

      Username: orhs
      Password: wildcats
    • Opposing Viewpoints
      This database is a good resource for controversial issues like standardized testing or the future impact of injuries to football players.

      If you need a password, use "elvis."
    • World Geography: Understanding a Changing World
      Use this database to research particular countries or regions of the world.

      Username: orhs
      Password: wildcats
    • Health and Wellness Center
      Use this database to research specific medical topics.

      If you need a password, use "elvis".
    • World History: The Modern Era
      Use this database to research historical events.

      Username: orhs
      Password: wildcats
     

    Standards

    Common Core

    CC.11-12.W.7

    Conduct short as well as more sustained research projects to answer a question (including a self-generated question) or solve a problem; narrow or broaden the inquiry when appropriate; synthesize multiple sources on the subject, demonstrating understanding of the subject under investigation.

    CC.11-12.W.8

    Gather relevant information from multiple authoritative print and digital sources, using advanced searches effectively; assess the strengths and limitations of each source in terms of the task, purpose, and audience; integrate information into the text selectively to maintain the flow of ideas, avoiding plagiarism and overreliance on any one source and following a standard format for citation.

    CC.11-12.W.9

    Research to Build and Present Knowledge: Draw evidence form literary or informational texts to support analysis, reflection, and research.

     

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip