This is the "Home" page of the "Mas-Effler: Latino(a) Heroes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mas-Effler: Latino(a) Heroes  

Last Updated: Aug 26, 2015 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=680356 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Some Latino(a) Heroes to choose from

  • Isabel Allende
  • Alicia Alonso
  • Michelle Bachelet
  • Simón Bolívar
  • Fernando Bujones
  • Franklin R. Chang-Diaz
  • César Chávez
  • Roberto Clemente
  • Hernán Cortés
  • Miguel de Cervantes
  • Hernando De Soto
  • Bartolomé de Las Casas
  • Jaime Escalante
  • David G. Farragut
  • Cristina Fernández de Kirchner
  • Carlos Juan Finlay
  • María Irene Fornés
  • Alberto Gonzales
  • Che Guevara
  • Dolores Huerta
  • Frida Kahlo
  • Nancy Lopez
  • Luis Muñoz Marín
  • Vilma Martinez
  • Rigoberta Menchu 
  • Antonia C. Novello
  • Vasco Núñez de Balboa
  • Ellen Ochoa
  • Severo Ochoa
  • Pablo Picasso
  • Francisco Pizzaro
  • Juan Ponce de León
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen
  • Dilma Rousseff
  • Sonia Sotomayor
  • Francisco Vázquez de Coronado 
  • Amerigo Vespucci

 

Maybe on these - there isn't a ton of information in the databases, will have to go to google, but these folks are interesting.

Loreta Janeta Velázquez

Julia de Burgos

Concepcion Picciotto

Links to Databases

Databases are excellent resources for this project. They access reference books and other materials chock full of biographical information.

As an added bonus, citation is easy.  Look for the MLA citation at the bottom of each article.

  • Steudent Resources in Context
    This database is a great place to start your research. Use the search box for quick, relevant results.

    If you need a password with this database, use "elvis."
  • Global Issues in Context
    This database accesses global resources and may help with your research.
 

Search Destiny - Look for Print Materials @ ORHS Library

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

 

This library has a strong Biography collection.  You can either walk thorugh the section in the library for inspiration or search for a particular person in Destiny.  If you use Destiny, make note of the call number and whether the book is available (checked in) before heading to find it on the shelves.  Don't hesitate to let Mrs. Milloway know if you need help,

 

Citing Sources

Databases make citation easy!  The databases listed on this page prorovide either the MLA citattion for you, generally at the bottom of the article.

Information on how to cite print resources is outlined in the Citing Specific Print Resources document attached here.  Or you can acess the  Purdue's Online Writing Lab for more help.

Some ebooks are just like the print copy; the information necessary to build a citation is available but it isn't in MLA format.  In this case, treat the ebook like a print book until you come to medium of publication, which will be "web" intead of "print."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip