Last Updated: Nov 23, 2015
- Choose a topic from the list your teacher has provided regarding Victorian (19th century) England.
- You will be researching a particular area of Victorian England society as a group and presenting your findings the class.
- Within your group’s large topic, choose a specific area to explore in more detail on your own. In a five paragraph paper, introduce your specific subtopic, highlight three of the most interesting facts that you learned in your research, and provide a conclusion.
- You must have a Works Cited page for both the group and the individual portions.
- Use Boolen operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.), e.g. Renaissance AND inventions, music OR dance
- Use quotation marks around an exact phrase, e.g. "King James" or "Tower of London"
- Think of synonyms if your initial keyword search is not giving you what you want, e.g. you might try 'prison' instead of 'cr'ime and punishment'
- Use the advanced search option to comibine terms or narrow your search.
- Do not use conversational language when searching databases, e.g. What things were invented during Victoria's reign? Instead, try Victorian invention or Victorian inventor.
Don't forget: databases and ebooks make citing your sources super easy! The MLA citation is either listed for you at the bottom of the article or available with a click or two.
Integrate multiple sources of information presented in diverse formats/medias evaluating the credibility and accuracy of each source.
Conduct short and long research projects to answer a question or solve a problem.
For your convenience, some books have already been pulled and put on a cart for you. Freel free to browse the cart or use the catalog to see what is available from the library.
Databases are a great place for you to access all kinds of information including easy to cite images.
Articles in a database that come from a work originally published as a print source (reference book, journal article) are considered PRINT sources.
- Daily Life through History
Use the TOPICS tab to look at "Revolutionary and Industrial Lives, the 19th Century" and click on the last entry in that list, "Victorian England." This a great place to start!
- World History Modern Era
Use the search box with this database.
- Student Resources in Context
GENERAL REFERENCE. A one stop shop for reference books, magazine/journal articles, images and more.
Use the search box to pull up a variety of resources. Use the "search within these results" box to narrow the results.
- Victorians - BBC History
From British Broadcasting Channel, this site offers a wonderful overview of the Era. Be sure to search for your specific topic on BBC’s page.
- Children in Victorian England - BBC Primary History
- Victorian Society
Includes info on fashion, women’s roles, home life, recreation, and the Great Exhibition
- Victorian Britain
National Archives (UK’s) provides this overview of the time period with a look at social issues, transportation, and much more.
- Victorian England - from Britain Express
- Primary Homework Help: The Victorians
This website was created by a teacher in England.
- A Victorian - Extensive study of Victorian England
An extensive website full of information on Victorian England put together by one individual. It is a very interesting site, but since its authority cannot be verified, it is best to try to confirm information you find here somewhere else.
- The Victorian Web
This website can be overwhelming; there are many, many articles and links to other sources. If you take care not to get pulled off in the wrong direction you can find some great information.
- A Concise Survey of the Art of Western Civilization
- Pre-Raphaelite Art - from the Delaware Art Museum
- The English Penal System - Port Cities, London
This site is no longer updated but this particular page has good information about English prisons.
- Victorian Crime and Punishment
Published by the East of England Broadcast Network, Cambridgeshire County Council, and the Bedfordshire County Council.
- The Workhouse
Website devoted to the Victorian institution of “The Workhouse”, a place where the poor lived and worked. You'll have to search within the site to find specific references to Victorian England.
- Children's Homes
A sister site to Workhouses, this website describes how orphans and juvenile delinquents were treated in England. Take care to find information that applies to Victorian England.