This is the "Home" page of the "Barry French Artists 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Barry French Artists 2016  

Last Updated: Feb 22, 2016 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=693715 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Project Guidelines

Vous allez choisir une artiste et vous allez faire un expose oral sur votre artiste.

Il Faut:

A. Une courte biographie de l'artist:

  • date de naissance/morte
  • les evenements importants de sa vie
  • les lieux (places) importants de sa vie

 

B. Son style et sa technique

  • les caracteristiques typiques de son oeuvre
  • la couleur, les themes, le choix de sujet
  • sa technique
  • comment est-ce qu'il ou elle a change le monde des
  • beaux-arts?
  • comment etait-il/elle different(e) des autres?
     

    Citing Sources

    The databases and eBooks listed here provide citation tools to generate your citation. Should you need help citing, additional sources to use include Purdue's Online Writing Lab or Easy Bib (see below).

    EasyBib: the bibliography maker.

    Research Databases from ORHS Library

    • Student Resources in Context
      This is where everyone should start. It is a great general purpose database that includes reference materials, journals, magazines, newspapers, videos and images.

      If you need a password, use elvis.
    • World History Modern Era
      Covers 1500 to present and includes articles, timelines, images, maps, and primary source documents. This is a great resource but it does not cover every artist.

      username orhs
      password wildcats
    • World Book Advanced
      This is a general purpose encyclopedia that will have basic information and images.

      If you need a password, use elvis.
     

    eBook

    Cover Art
    Great Lives from History - Larissa Juliet Taylor (Editor)
    Publication Date: 2005
    This is a series that covers multiple centuries and is an excellent resource for biographical information.

    password orwildcats

    Cover Art
    Europe, 1789 To 1914 - John Merriman (Editor); Jay Winter (Editor)
    ISBN: 0684314967
    Publication Date: 2006-07-01
    Presents the history of Europe from the Renaissance, the printing revolution, and the Protestant Reformation in the 1400s and 1500s through the Scientific Revolution of the 1600s, and the Enlightenment and the French Revolution of the 1700s.

    Cover Art
    Europe since 1914 - John Merriman; J. M. Winter
    ISBN: 0684314975
    Publication Date: 2006-10-01
    A multi-volume survey of European history from the beginning of World War I in 1914 to the present, presented through alphabetically arranged entries that focus on the period's scientific, social and cultural history as well as the political, military and economic developments.

     

    Books available in print @ ORHS library

    Cover Art
    International Dictionary of Art and Artists - James Vinson (Editor)
    Call Number: Ref 703 In
    ISBN: 155862001X
    Publication Date: 1990
    Discusses over 500 individual works of art, arranged in chronological order.

    Cover Art
    Facts on File Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists - Lawrence Gowing (Editor)
    Call Number: Ref 920 Bio
    Publication Date: 2005
    Presents biographical profiles of hundreds of important artists throughout history, including painters, sculptors, architects, and other visual artists, describing their lives, the characteristics of their work, and their significance and listing locations where their work can be seen.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Artists - William Vaughn (Editor)
    Call Number: Ref 709.2 En
    ISBN: 0195215729
    Publication Date: 2001
    Introduces the Western painters, sculptors, and printmakers from the Middle Ages through the present, and describes concepts, major schools, and movements of Western art from abstraction to vorticism.

    Cover Art
    Larousse Dictionary of Painters - Michel Laclotte (Editor); Alistair Smith (Editor)
    Call Number: Ref 700 LA
    ISBN: 088332265X
    Publication Date: 1981
    All those who have made an oustanding contribution to the glories of the Western tradition of art, from the illuminators of medieval altarpieces and the masters of the Italian High Renaissance to the great Impressionists and the exponents of Abstract Art, have a place in Larousse Dictionary of Painters.

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of World Biography - Suzanne M. Bourgoin; Paula K. Byers
    Call Number: Ref 920 Enc
    Publication Date: 1997-2012
    Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip