This is the "Guide" page of the "Senior AP LPJ projects" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Senior AP LPJ projects  

Last Updated: May 11, 2016 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=694734 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Research Databases

Databases are a great place for you to access all kinds of information including easy to cite images.

Articles in a database that come from a work originally published as a print source (reference book, journal article) are considered PRINT sources.

  • Daily Life through History
    Username orhs
    Password wildcats

    This a great place to start! Use the TOPICS tab to choose the time period you are interested in. Use the drop down menu on the left to expand a topic. You can always use the search box if you are looking for something/someone in particular.

    Citation at the bottom of each article.
  • World History Modern Era
    username orhs
    password wildcats

    This database will be most useful if you use the search box to locate particular people/places/things.

    Citation at the bottom of the article.
  • Student Resources in Context
    GENERAL REFERENCE. A one stop shop for reference books, magazine/journal articles, images and more.

    The best way to use this database is to put the title of your novel(s) in the search box and sift through the results. You will often find "Historical Context" which could be quite helpful.

    If you need a password, use elvis.

    The citation will be at the bottom of each article.
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Europe, 1789-1914 - John Merriman (Editor); Jay Winter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780684313597
Publication Date: 2006-08-13
'Europe, 1789 to 1914' offers encyclopedic coverage of European institutions, events and personages over the 'long' 19th century, including the continent's increasing world dominance during this period.

If you need a password, use elvis.

Cover Art
Renaissance and Reformation Almanac - Laurel Corona; Julie L. Carnagie
ISBN: 9780787654665
Publication Date: 2002-07-12
This resource brings the people and the events of the Renaissance and Reformation to life for today's students.

The "almanac" has a "Timeline of Events" that I think you will find helpful.

If you need a password, use elvis.

Cover Art
The Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914 - James Farr (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787660468
Publication Date: 2002-11-18
World Eras provides a multicultural approach that directly reflects changing curriculum standards, with a cross-disciplinary overview of world history and a strong emphasis of daily life and social history.

If you need a password, use elvis.

Cover Art
The European Renaissance and Reformation - Norman J. Wilson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787617066
Publication Date: 2001-06-08
Part of a series aiming to help students and researchers understand key periods in world history, this volume is divided into nine chapters that focus on arts and communication through the period of renaissance and reformation within Europe.

 

Search Tips

  • Use Boolen operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.), e.g. Renaissance AND inventions, music OR dance
  • Use quotation marks around an exact phrase, e.g. "King James" or "Tower of London"
  • Think of synonyms if your initial keyword search is not giving you what you want, e.g. you might try 'prison' instead of 'cr'ime and punishment'
  • Use the advanced search option to comibine terms or narrow your search.
  • Do not use conversational language when searching databases, e.g. What things were invented during Victoria's reign? Instead, try Victorian invention or Victorian inventor.

Don't forget: databases and ebooks make citing your sources super easy!  The MLA citation is either listed for you at the bottom of the article or available with a click or two.

 

Search Destiny - Look for Other Materials @ ORHS Library

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Your library has lots and lots of print material geared to this project.  Use search terms like "1920s" or search for a particular topic you want to know more about, like "Korean War" and then click on the Subject box.

 

Print Books - already pulled to the cart

Websites

Use bibme.org or easybib.com to generate website citations.

  • British History from the BBC
    This link will take you to an archived page from the BBC, complete with a British history timeline and interesting information about the different time periods we are researching.
  • Research various historical time periods
    National Archives (UK’s) provides an overview and a variety of resources for different time periods. Best to use this site when you are looking for odds and ends, not the main meat of your project.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip