This is the "Resources" page of the "American Decades 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American Decades 2016  

Last Updated: May 4, 2016 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=698020 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Destiny - Look for Print Materials @ ORHS Library

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Your library has lots and lots of print material geared to this project.  Use search terms like "1920s" or search for a particular topic you want to know more about, like "Korean War" and then click on the Subject box.

Databases

Databases are ideal for beginning your research because they will provide a lot of basic information quickly and they are so easy to cite!

  • Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols and Ideas
    username: orhs
    password: wildcats

    This resource will be especially good for learning about what life was like - music, fashion, leisure time, etc. It is organized by decade. Click on the "topics" tab and then your chosen decade.

    The MLA citation for each source is at the bottom of the article.
  • Student Resources in Context
    This database has a "browse topics" tab on the left hand side of the screen that lists the decades of the twentieth century. Click on the decade of your choice to access articles about that decade.

    You can also use the search box to find specific information.

    The MLA citation at the bottom of the article.

    If you need a password, use 'elvis.'
  • Daily Life Through History
    username: orhs
    password: wildcats

    The search box will be the quickest way for you to get information in this database. Try searching your decade "1960s America" or "korean war" for example.

    Each article's or image's MLA citation will be at the bottom of the page.
 

eBooks from ORHS Library

Cover Art
U-X-L American Decades - Gale Research Staff
ISBN: 9780787664541
Publication Date: 2002-12-06
American Decades" covers the 20th-century. Chapters begin with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the decade. Alphabetically arranged entries discuss historically important events, including everything from arts and entertainment to sports to governmental issues.

If you need a password, use elvis.

Choose a volume (your decade) then select a topic you want to know more about (for example, Lifestyle and Social Trends. Once you have opened that topic, you will see CITATION TOOLS on the right side of the screen, which is where you'll get your citation information.

Cover Art
Discovering U. S. History - Tim Mcneese
ISBN: 9781438134413
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
.
username: orhs
password: wildcats

Use this table of contents the way you would a print book. Use the "search inside" feature to look for particular subjects.

Click on "citation information" to access the MLA citation.

Cover Art
The Sixties in America - Carl Singleton (Editor); Rowena Wildin (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0893569828
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
.
username: orwildcats

The Sixties in America surveys the events and people of the 1960's. The set provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's and also developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics and gender issues.

Cover Art
The Nineties in America - Milton Berman
ISBN: 9781587655005
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
.
username: orwildcats

This title features a sweeping view of the 1990s impact on the United States and Canada. The Gulf War, dot-coms, impeachment, grunge, Y2K, this book examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade.

Cover Art
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library - Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 9781414402147
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
Use this ebook if you want to find more information about an economic development that you already know existed in the decade you are researching.

Use the citation tool to generate your citation.

The movements that have helped shape American society, culture and politics: numerous illustrations and maps, engaging text, interesting sidebars, helpful words to know listings, research and activity ideas, as well as further reading suggestions, easy-to-use subject index and a concise chronology.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History - Thomas Carson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787638887
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Use this ebook if you want to find more information about an economic development that you already know existed in the decade you are researching.

Use the citation tool to generate your citation.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip