This is the "Resources" page of the "Decades Project - 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Decades Project - 2017  

Last Updated: May 8, 2017 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=710234 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

  • Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols and Ideas
    username: orhs
    password: wildcats

    This resource will be especially good for learning about what life was like - music, fashion, leisure time, etc. It is organized by decade. Click on the "topics" tab and then your chosen decade.

    The MLA citation is at the bottom of the page.
  • Student Resources in Context
    This database has a "browse topics" tab that lists the decades of the twentieth century. Click on the decade of your choice to access articles about that decade.

    You can also use the search box to find specific information.

    MLA citation at the bottom of the article.

    If you need a password, use 'elvis.'
  • Daily Life Through History
    username: orhs
    password: wildcats

    The search box will be the quickest way for you to get information in this database. Try searching your decade "1960s America" or "1970s" for example.

    Each article's or image's MLA citation will be at the bottom of the page.
 

eBooks from ORHS Library

Cover Art
U-X-L American Decades - Gale Research Staff
ISBN: 9780787664541
Publication Date: 2002-12-06
American Decades" covers 20th-century events and social history beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999, Each decade is covered in one volume with features including 600 black-and-white photographs and illustrations. Chapters begin with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the decade. Chapters include the topics: Topics in the News, Headline Makers and Further Reading. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.

Cover Art
Discovering U. S. History - Tim Mcneese
ISBN: 9781438134413
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
username: orhs
password: wildcats

Use this table of contents the way you would a print book. It can be easier to search, though, because there is also a search box.

Click on "citation information" to access the MLA citation.

Cover Art
The Sixties in America - Carl Singleton (Editor); Rowena Wildin (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0893569828
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
username: orwildcats

The Sixties in America surveys the events and people of the 1960's. The set not only provides in-depth coverage of all aspects of the three major events of the 1960's that give the decade its distinctive character-but also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics and gender issues. The set looks at the most important people and events in the arts, media, music and sports and covers the headline-grabbing news items of the period.

Cover Art
The Nineties in America - Milton Berman
ISBN: 9781587655005
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
username: orwildcats

This title features a sweeping view of the 1990s impact on the United States and Canada. The Gulf War, dot-coms, impeachment, grunge, Y2K, this book examines the iconic personalities and moments of this important decade.

Cover Art
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library - Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 9781414402147
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
The movements that have helped shape American society, culture and politics: numerous illustrations and maps, engaging text, interesting sidebars, helpful words to know listings, research and activity ideas, as well as further reading suggestions, easy-to-use subject index and a concise chronology.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History - Thomas Carson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787638887
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Encyclopedia presents 1,000 alphabetically arranged entries that range from one paragraph to several pages in length. Look for era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiles, geographic profiles and more.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip