This is the "Home" page of the "Bailey - French speaking country research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Bailey - French speaking country research  

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2017 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/content.php?pid=712609 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Websites

BBC.com is a great site for the timeline project especially!  Use the search box and type in the name of your country and the word "profile".  For example, you might try "France profile".   Scroll down through the article for an introduction to the country.  Keep going and you will come to a "Timeline" section.

National Geographic Travel is a good source for finding out about places of interest in your chosen county.  It is a commercial travel planning site, but it is also a reliable place to find out about exciting places.  You may want to do more research, in the database Student Resouces in Context, for example, to learn more about a particular place.  You will have to keep closing the subscription request window, which is a nuisance.

 

Citing your sources:

When you use the World Geography or Student Resources in Context databases, your citations are already there for you.  Scroll down to the bottom of the database article and look for the MLA citation.  It's as easy as that!

Country Reports database does not provide a citation.  Use the following format:

LastName, FirstName. “Title of Article.”  Name of  Database. Web. Date of Access.

Research Databases

These databases can be accessed from school or from home.  They will all provide easy access to relevant, authorative, easily cited information AND IMAGES (that also come with ready made citations.)  

Use these databases before searching the internet.  They will provide you with the best information with the least possible effort.

  • World Geography: Understanding a Changing World
    username orhs
    password wildcats

    The best way to use this database for this project is to choose the region and then the country that you are researching.

    The "History & Issues" link in the EXPLORE section is an especially good place to start for the timeline. The SOCIETY & CULTURE page has "Arts & Landmarks which will be a good source for the places of interest portion of this project.



    You can also use the search box to find out more about a person, place or event.

    The MLA citation will be at the bottom of each article.
  • COUNTRY REPORTS
    Username: wildcats
    Password: wildcats

    You will need to SIGN IN before you begin to use this database.

    This database provides information on countries of the world. Use the "countries" button and then select the country you are researching. (Don't use the search box.)

    Check out the navigation buttons on the left, especially the "history" one.

    Country Reports database does not provide a citation. Use the following format:

    LastName, FirstName. “Title of Article.” Name of Database. Web. Date of Access.

  • Student Resources in Context
    Another super general purpose database with a variety of different formats of information. Use the search box to find information about your particular country or a specific person, place or thing.

    The MLA citation will be at the bottom of each article.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip