This is the "Guide" page of the "Into Thin Air" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Into Thin Air   Tags: english, etheridge, into thin air, krakauer  

Junior English Fall 2013
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://highschool.ortn.libguides.com/intothinair Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citing Sources

The databases listed here provide citation tools to generate your citation. If you use a website, you will need to create the citation yourself by finding the author, title, copyright, etc. Utilize Purdue's Online Writing Lab or Easy Bib to help you cite websites correctly.

 

Articles from EBooks

Cover Art
"Mount Everest, Measurement of" - Barry Max Brandenberger (Editor)
ISBN: 0028655613
Publication Date: 2001
From the reference set, Mathematics.

PW: elvis

Cover Art
"Sherpas" - Timothy L. Gall
ISBN: 9781414448824
Publication Date: 2009
From "Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life"

PW: elvis

Cover Art
"Nepal" country overview - Susan B. Gall (Editor)
ISBN: 0787662666
Publication Date: 2003
From Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Physical Geography

PW: elvis

Cover Art
"Krakauer, Jon 1954" biography - Tracy L. Matthews (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787675394
Publication Date: 2006
From Concise Major 21st Century Writers.

PW: elvis

Cover Art
"High Altitude Pulmonary Edema" disorder overview - K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 9781414406145
Publication Date: 2006-11-03
From World of Sports Science.

PW: elvis

Cover Art
"Mountain Climbing" topic overview - Gary S. Cross
ISBN: 0684312654
Publication Date: 2004
From Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America.

PW: elvis

Research Databases

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    A general reference encyclopedia. Has a full article on Mt. Everest with a history of expeditions on the mountain and details of the geography of the region.
    UN: orhs PW: wildcats
  • Global Issues in Context
    Focuses on broad global issues; includes news articles, reference articles, podcasts, images, and more.
    PW: elvis
  • Tennessee Electronic Library
    Searches over 50 databases at once. Provided by the state of Tennessee to all residents.
    PW: elvis
  • Books & Authors (part of TEL)
    Search for "Into Thin Air" and you will find a book summary, author information, book reviews, and more.
    PW: elvis
  • Country Reports
    Gives information on countries including history, geography and people. Look for NEPAL.
    Click "sign in" in the upper right corner.
    UN: oakridghs PW: wildcats
 

Tips for Google Searching

  • Use Boolen operators (AND, OR, NOT, etc.)
  • Use quotation marks around an exact phrase, e.g. "London Olympics"
  • Think of synonyms if your initial keyword search is not working 
  • Use the advanced search options to get precise results
  • Do not use conversational language when searching, e.g. When was Albert Einstein born?
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip